Thursday, February 27, 2014

Nokia Lumia 625 Review

Overpriced Lumia

My ratings 2.5/5
 
This is my third review on a Lumia phone- after 800 and 520. The experience was worst in Lumia 800, best in Lumia 520 and just ok in Lumia 625. So let us talk about the Lumia 625.

The phone has typical Lumia design with smooth curves on the edges, Corning Gorilla Glass 2 screen and polycarbonate panel at the back. All the corners and edges are rounded off, and the shell is marginally convex, so it rests nicely in the palm.

All the physical keys- volume rocker, power button/lock key, and camera are on right side.  The buttons are in plastic and in the same color as that of the phone’s rear shell - unlike the black keys of Lumia 520 & 620. There are no keys or ports at the left side of the phone. The Micro-USB port and microphone are located at the bottom, while 3.5mm headphone jack is on the top of the phone.

Monday, December 23, 2013

Subway Restaurant Review : How to order at Subway

Healthy Way- Subway

My Ratings: 4.5/5

I remember visiting Subway 3-4 times without ordering anything as I always got confused and didn’t understand what to order and how to order. I don’t know the concept of ‘sub’ and didn’t understand what Subway really offers. Subway is not like McDonald or any other fast food stores where in you just say the number you want and that’s it.   So here I am sharing my views and advices related to Subway.

History

The restaurant is owned and operated by Doctor’s Associates, Inc. It is founded by Fred DeLuca in 1965 after borrowing$1000 from his family friend Dr. Peter Buck. The aim of Fred was to earn enough money to fulfill his ambition to be a Medical Doctor.  The holding company “Doctor’s Associates” derives its name from Fred DeLuca’s goal to be a doctor, as well as Peter Buck’s having a doctorate in physics.

Friday, December 20, 2013

Nokia Lumia 520 review

King pf phones in sub-10k category

My ratings: 4/5

Here I am sharing one more review of a phone that was released 8 months back and a successor has already been announced and expected to release soon. But that doesn’t make this phone any inferior from its successor or its competitors.

It is a classy phone by build and looks better than every Samsung phone till Note 3. It has sleek looks with bright funky rectangular and colourful back covers. It is a known secret that design of iPhone 5C was copied from Lumia 520. The best thing is that you can anytime change the colour of back cover and you will get the feel of a new phone in your hand.  

In nutshell, it features dual core processor, dedicated GPU, 512MB RAM, 4 inch IPS LCD Screen with 800x480-pixel resolution of 235ppi, 5MP camera, 720p video recording. The screen is scratch resistant but reflective and finger print magnet. Hence it is advisable to apply screen guard on priority.

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Samsung Galaxy Note 2 N7100 review

King of phones in sub-30k category

My ratings: 4/5

You may think that why I am reviewing a phone released more than a year back and also a successor has already been released in the form of Note 3. Believe me it is still the king in its segment.

Why Note 2?

I have purchased this mobile in October 2013, few days after the release of Note 3. I have my own set of requirements for this choice

1. It has quad core processor , good enough or my requirements. My motive is to get any information on my tips at quickest speed without any performance lags. Interestingly I never play games so very high speed processor doesn’t matter much.

Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Almamaterstore.in Review

How I braved Alma Mater and wrote this review!!!


Ratings: 1/5

The online shopping portal Alma Mater Store (almamaterstore.in) was an unknown name to me till I read a novel ‘ How I braved Anu Aunty and Co-founded Million Dollar Company ’. While reading that novel I got really impressed by their dedication and concept so thought of giving it a chance.

Alma Mater Concept

In gist, Alma Mater Store prints customized t-shirts, hoodies etc. for a group of people . There is nothing new in customized t-shirts as I was using it in my school 20 years back. Alma Mater is also not the pioneer in online customization as already many stores are there. They just tried to market and sell that old concept in new bottle of online shopping portal.

They offer round neck tees, collared tees and hoodies. They offer customization for minimum 10 quantities. Their price too vary though very minutely, if the order is larger than 25.

Thursday, March 21, 2013

Sony VAIO SVE15115EN review



Beauty with brains

My ratings: 3.5/5
 
I used HCL laptop satisfactorily for 4 years and it was still working ok till I decided to purchase a new laptop. It was really a big task to choose a laptop among so many brands and their models. I started out with a basic requirement list.
Requirements

1.       Processor- Intel i3. Though i5 was in market but I decided against it as I use my laptop only for multimedia and browsing. Also, i5 is known for huge battery consumption.
2.       RAM- Minimum 4GB.
3.       Storage capacity- Minimum 500GB. I already have 1TB external hard drive and another netbook with 500GB capacity so storage was not much concern.
4.       Ports- Minimum 1 USB 3.0 port along with all the usual ports. Since my external hard disk was USB3.0 compatible so I want to optimize the performance.
5.       Looks and color- I wanted something that looks attractive and is in white color. The color choice was absurd but I am infatuated towards white colored gadgets.
6.       Screen size- 15inch. The portability was not of much priority as I already own a netbook of 11.6in. I wanted a big screen so as to enjoy the downloaded movies.
7.       Audio quality and loudness- It became a priority because I faced lots of problems in my last HCL laptop due to its very low sound quality.
8.       Pricing- With in 40k.

Monday, March 18, 2013

Samsung Galaxy Grand Review


                                                    GRAND experience of GALAXY

My Ratings: 4/5
Large things attract me and when Galaxy Note was launched I decided to go for it but anyhow I decided in favour of iPhone 4S at that time. When Galaxy Grand was launched, it keeps tempting me from the day-1 and when I experienced in a mobile store I decided to go for it. I am using it for two weeks and want to share my views on this Grand creation of Samsung.

Features

1.2GHz Dual Core Processor
Android v4.1 (Jelly Bean) OS
5-inch Capacitive Touchscreen
8 MP Primary Camera & 2 MP Secondary Camera
Full HD Recording
Expandable Storage Capacity of 64 GB
Multi Window
Dual Standby SIM (GSM + GSM)

Friday, December 7, 2012

Sony Xperia Sola Review

Simple & Smart

My Ratings: 3/5


I have used almost all the major brands of mobile phones except Sony. Finally I have got a chance to use it. I gifted Sony Xperia Sola to my brother and am using it vigorously to know the positives and negatives of this phone.

In the quest

I explored extensively for a right phone to gift it to my brother. There were few basic requirements before I started the search.
1. Android phone; the version was not of much concern.
2. Minimum 5MP camera (secondary camera was needed but not of primary concern).
3. Impressive screen resolution.
4. Preferably single-SIM support.
5. Amazing looks and design.
6. Minimum 3.5inch screen.
7. Pricing should be in in the range of 15-20k.

I was surprised to find out that there were not many mobiles matching these specifications . I choose Sony just because I want to try out something new and Sony is always a preferable brand for music playback.